On some marketplaces, there are users who represent organisations rather than individuals. Because of this, they might want to have the option of displaying the name of their organisation instead of their own first and last names.
Also, on some marketplaces there are some users who might just prefer to remain anonymous under a nickname to other users, even though they need to provide their first name and last name to the marketplace administrator.
Both these options are possible now with the "Display Name" feature. Within their profile information, the user can choose to add a display name. If they add a display name, it will be shown to all the other users regardless of what their first and last name is.
What happens if a user deletes their display name?
If a user deletes the display name, the name that is shown in their profile will default to the first and last name, in accordance to what the marketplace administrator has selected in the design section of the admin panel.
Can I disable this feature so users can't add a display name?
At the moment, it is not possible to disable this feature. If a user chooses to add a display name, it will override the admin panel's selection of first name and last name display options.
As an admin, where can I see the user's display name?
If you go to the manage users tab of your admin panel, you will be able to see a column that shows the display name for those people who have added one. It is right next to the first and last name. If a user hasn't selected a display name, this field will be empty.