For some marketplaces it can be useful to let only certain people join the marketplace, or make it more exclusive with an invite only system. By enabling this system, only people with an invitation will be able to join your marketplace, which in connection with setting your marketplace to private, creates an exclusive marketplace.

How does it work?

When you have your marketplace set to invite only, only users with an invitation code can sign up to your marketplace, any other user who tries to sign up will not be able to unless they can provide an invitation code:

How do I make my marketplace invite only?

It is easy to make your marketplace invite only, simply follow these steps:

  • log in as an administrator,
  • open the Admin panel,
  • go to "Settings",
  • check the “Allow users to join only with an invite from another user" box in the "Access preferences" section.
  • save settings.

Can Anyone send invitation codes?

That is entirely up to you. You can allow every user to send invitation codes or only let admin accounts do it. 

While making changes to the invitation settings, following the steps in the previous section, take this into consideration: 

  • to let only admins invite new users check the “Allow users to join only with an invite from another user" box, and leave the “Allow all users to invite new users” box unselected in the "Access preferences" section.
  • to let any user invite new users select both “Allow users to join only with an invite from another user" and “Allow all users to invite new users” boxes in the "Access preferences" section.

If “Allow users to join only with an invite from another user" is disabled, then members won't see the invite link in the top bar.

Where does the user get their invitation code from?

To give new users the invitation code you have to send them an invitation email. You can find the invitation email option in your top bar named “Invite new members”.

The email you send will automatically include the invitation code if you have set your marketplace to invite only. 

You can customize the invitation email text to whatever you wish. Please read this article for further information and restrictions on the invitation function

How will people who wish to sign up understand what is going on and what to do?

When new users sign up the first field visible is the invitation code field with a clickable link.

By clicking on “What’s this?” a popup message will show regarding the invitation code function. 

This will let them know why they cannot sign up. If you wish to explain what they should do to be able to sign up you can provide a message on the signup page.

How to add a message to the signup page

  • open the Admin panel,
  • go to "Instructions text",
  • click “Edit information”
  • edit the text under “Signup info”
  • save changes

How to disable the invite only setting

Sometimes you only wish to use a setting for a time and then change. To remove the invite only and let anyone join follow these steps:

  • log in as an administrator,
  • open the Admin panel,
  • go to "Settings",
  • deselect  the “Allow users to join only with an invite from another user" 
  • save settings.


That is about it, now you know how to make your marketplace private and public again!

Did this answer your question?